Tuba Christmas ink sketch with blot

I carry sketchbooks where ever I go.  Last night was the annual Stevens Point Tuba Christmas at the university.   With time to spare before the concert,  I wanted to capture something of the feel of the event in my 4″ x 6″ $1.50  cold press non-100%-cotton pad.  (Not to disparage those who only use better quality, but I  am sketching for myself, in the moment).   To add insult to the paper quality I chose,  I had also attempted to press a flower, unsuccessfully on this page and had a blot….  wait!.. that looked just like (or kinda like) the bell of a tuba!    Voila!  That blot provided me a starting point in the chaos that was on the stage.    Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

